“I always find beauty in things that are odd and imperfect – they are much more interesting.” – Marc Jacobs

Secondhand Sunday! ( #secondhandsunday )

Mrs. Glass, Baby Glass, and I like to spend our Sundays at estate sales, garage sales, flea markets, etc. so I thought I would take some time each Sunday to feature the items we found that day, or showcase some of our favorites finds from the past.  Today, I have two books that we got for a dollar a piece at The Friends of the Library book sale a couple of towns over: J. D. Salinger: A Life Piloting, Seamanship, and Small Boat Handling by Charles F. Chapman.

#secondhandsunday

A post shared by David Glass (@thatmanglass) on

I have a lot of authors that I really love reading, but when people ask who my favorite is, I have to go with J. D. Salinger.  Franny and Zooey is quite possibly my favorite book of all time.  Nine Stories changed so much about how I perceive the world.  All of his characters are exactly as deep and complex as they need to be and the world he created behind them, though strikingly similar to our own, seems so much more romantic and liveable.  I’m really looking forward to reading this biography.

There has always been an air of wonderment surrounding The Sea.  My dad was in the Navy when he was younger and growing up, I would go through his old Navy Handbook and marvel at everything it held.  This helped to ignite my interest in the military, boats and the sea itself, and everything that I’ve learned about the ocean and marine life has contributed to that.  This book promises to be a nice balance of small ships and the water they sail on, as well as an equally nice balance of information and awesome imagery.

Leave a Reply

