“Everybody’s got to believe in something. I believe I’ll have another beer.” – W.C. Fields

I used to drink a lot.  Like a lot a lot.  I don’t drink very much any more because it’s no good for a married father my age or anyone who’s married, a father, or my age.  When I do drink these days, I like to class it up a bit and indulge in something slightly higher-end.  The Family Glass was at our neighborhood slightly higher-end grocery establishment and they were sampling Deschutes Brewery’s Zarabanda and Hop Henge IPA.  Zarabanda was delicious but slightly out of the budget, whereas as Hop Henge was also delicious and a very reasonable $5.99 for the 22 oz. bottle.  At a staggering 9.5%, the Double-H packs a subtle wallop, without the back-of-the-tongue flavor that you might find in other strong-beers loitering in your mouth.  Hop Henge is an “experimental IPA” blending FOUR types of hops into a pleasantly and surprisingly fresh brew with subtle floral notes and a springtime herbal spice.  I have always appreciated Deschutes (and the state of Oregon as a whole) and I am delighted to say that Hop Henge has more than lived up to my expectations.

Cheers to you, dear Reader, and may the hinges of our friendship never grow rusty.

@deschutesbeer Cheers! And thank you for yet another tasty brew!

A post shared by David Glass (@thatmanglass) on

Leave a Reply

