“Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.” – Rumi

Or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Myself

Or: The David Glass Guide to Fixing a Nation

Step One:  Return to Isolationism

The other day, I re-blogged an article about the United States’ military presence around the world.  I had already started a draft about my Return to Isolationism plan so I was inspired by this article to revisit the topic and get it out in the ether.  If you’ve been along for the ride this whole time, you most likely read the post I wrote that hinted at my thoughts on what ought to be done to get the United States back on track to being the best damn country in the world.  Essentially, I believe that we need to take some time to focus our energy on improving ourselves as a nation.  We are spreading our resources thin all around the world while our own systems fail.  We need to focus inward before things really get bad.

I like to use the analogy of the oxygen mask on an airplane.  The flight attendants instruct us to put on our own mask before assisting because, essentially, we can’t help others if we’re unable to help ourselves.  Another way to look at it is to picture the United States as a living organism.  That shouldn’t be hard because it is a living organism.  It grows, it multiplies, it consumes, it creates waste.  It experiences health and disease, strength and weakness.  It lives.  It gets older.  It dies?

No.

We are going to take steps to prevent the death of our nation.  We are going to halt the atrophy in culture, nourish it  and nurse it back to health.  When our bodies are unwell, we need rest.  We need to give our immune systems the opportunity to heal us so that we can get back on our feet.  It is with this in mind that I propose that we strategically but quickly pull out of all international police actions.  We are told that we “have a responsibility” to administer aid and that it is “necessary” for our military to patrol international soil and water, but do we really?  If anything, we could eventually help other governments to improve their systems and whatnot, but I don’t think that takes priority over our own well-being right now.  Let’s bring the troops home and utilize them to help rebuild the homeland.  The military is a huge talent pool.  Most of the people that I’ve known who have spent time in the armed forces are highly-skilled and have a great work ethic.  Even if their training is super-specialized, it can’t be too hard to translate the skills associated with that training to a civilian purpose.  The potential for job creation in our country is high, if we alter our perspective and focus on self-improvement.

There are a lot of jobs that aren’t done correctly because they are difficult or intimidating.  Do you know who would be able to overcome those anxieties and follow through in a professional and disciplined manner?  Someone who has shown courage and discipline in the United States military.  Someone who would appreciate being out of the line of fire and closer to their loved ones.  I get so frustrated when I hear about men and women serving our country, then coming back and not being able to find a job to support their families.  I am also tired of hearing about people abusing social services programs and failing to contribute to society.

I want to clarify something here.  I am not entirely against social services.  I think that the American government has created a situation in which people legitimately have no other choice but to rely on government help to get by.  I’ve been there.  I needed and received government help.  I would not have survived otherwise.  Bad things happen and that’s what services like SNAP (food stamps) and Medicaid are for.  If the economy of our country and the structure of our government were different, we wouldn’t need to dump so much of our money into the government and we would be able to pay for our own things.  Health insurance is a scam.  The Social Security program is old enough to have been receiving Social Security benefits for at least like 15 years now (Social Security is 80-something years old).  The Electoral College is a huge joke (more on that in Step Two).  The “middle class” doesn’t exist.  The American Dream costs $130,000 a year.  Two-thirds of Americans make less that $42,000.  We are fed a dream that costs three times as much as most of us make.  Our democracy is failing because this isn’t a democracy.  It’s smoke and mirrors.  We need help and the government isn’t really helping us.

Let’s work backwards.  Step One.  Bring the troops home and employ them in a capacity that utilizes their skills and expertise and betters the country.  Because we have to potential to be the best country in the world, we just have to live up to it.

Patriotically,

Mr. Glass

A caveat:  This whole thing might get a little intense down the line and I know people aren’t going to agree with what I’m saying, but I want you, Dear Reader, to keep an open mind and think about what I’m saying before you get upset.  Because I have the best interest of the American people in mind.

I also want to reiterate that I understand firsthand how important social services are to a lot of people, but I would like to see the creation of a system that eliminates the need for those services altogether so that people are able to make money and be in control of the money they make.

Leave a Reply

