Secondhand Sunday!

I did it again.  I’m a day behind on my SHS post for this week.  Mother’s Day took priority yesterday so I didn’t get around to writing.  I want to take a minute to tell you all that my wife, Holland Glass, is one hell of a mother.  Day in and day out, she’s constantly on her motherhood grind.  I am so grateful that she has been willing and able to stay home and raise our daughter and I am ecstatically anticipating our next child together!  She is my perfect match and I feel like our daughter is so magical because our souls go together like locks and keys.  I love you, Holland.  With everything I’ve got.

Also, Happy Mother’s Day to all the other supermoms out there!

I got this week’s SHS item the same day that we found the blasting cap box.  It was a different sale, but we were on a serious roll that day so we were able to hit some great sales.

#secondhandsunday #acme workshop #lamp #estatesale #madeinAmerica #Chicago

A post shared by David Glass (@thatmanglass) on

#secondhandsunday #acme #vintage #lamp #madeinAmerica #Chicago

A post shared by David Glass (@thatmanglass) on

#secondhandsunday #acme #vintage #lamp #madeinAmerica #Chicago

A post shared by David Glass (@thatmanglass) on

#secondhandsunday #vintage #lamp #madeinAmerica #Chicago

A post shared by David Glass (@thatmanglass) on

This Acme lamp is really amazing.  It telescopes from maybe a foot and a half to five feet tall.  You can see the great etching on the knobs.  I love the industrial look and the fact that it was made in America.  It works, too, but I’ll be damned if it didn’t shoot a bunch of sparks the first time I plugged it in and turned it out.  All that means is that I’ll have to switch out the cord, but as I’m typing this, I think I might use the original cord and shorten it to take care of the frayed wiring.  No big deal.

I hope you enjoy this piece and be sure to follow for more great finds.

Exploringly,

D. Glass

Leave a Reply

