“Men have become the tools of their tools.” – Henry David Thoreau (Part One of Two)

[I like this quote because it is a warning against over-reliance on technology, but also a reminder that one’s tools are an extension of one’s body and should be treated thusly.  Meaning, to me, that you should invest in quality tools that will do the job the right way, and that more tools in your toolbox mean more jobs done well.  Think about it.]

If you read my post from about a week ago, you’ll know that the Family Glass and I have done quite a bit of travelling over the past couple of months.  We travelled something like 3600 miles over the past seven weeks or so, going as far north as Chicago, IL and as far South as South Padre Island, TX which some back and forth on I-35 and I-64 amongst others in there as well (Thanks again, Ike).

We had a great time.  We got to see a lot of America and spend a lot of time with our families.

That being said, it’s hard to be on the road.  When you’re away from headquarters, you don’t always have everything you need and it sucks to have to find and/or acquire new stuff and no one wants to spend money to buy something they already have.  And when you’re pulling up stakes and moving camp, it’s hard to have everything you need handy when you also need everything in boxes.

It was nice to have my Gerber multi-tool with me, and it has therefore become a part of my everyday carry (#EDC).

I actually, by a stroke of luck, found this while I was working at a used car dealership about 3 or 4 years ago.  The dealership would buy cars as trade-ins or at auction or have them shipped from other locations depending on supply and demand.  I found my Gerber in one of these cars that had come from somewhere else and had originally come from a third or even fourth location.  I mention this because I would have, under more reasonable circumstances, from a professional and personal standpoint, attempted to return it to its original owner.  Also, I technically shouldn’t have taken it from work, but if I hadn’t it would’ve gotten throw away and to have such a finely-crafted instrument cast out like common rubbish would have been a tragedy.  I accept the wrong that I’ve done, and I’ve made peace with it.

Moving on.

The multi-tool is mine now and it’s awesome.  As far as I can tell, it’s like twenty years old, but it still works like a charm.  I had it put away for the longest time but it has been super handy lately.  As you can see, it has: a saw, flathead screwdriver, phillips screwdriver, two-sided file (coarse and fine grit), knife, lanyard loop, large flathead, and bottle/can opener.  It also has blunt-nose pliers, wire cutters, 3 inch ruler, and 7 cm ruler.  Overall, a pretty impressive tool which, I discovered today, was the predecessor to the current Gerber 600 series.  In the past 2 months or so, I have used: the pliers to get stubborn nails out of the wall, the knife to open various boxes, the saw to tackle new growth branches that needed trimming, both sides of the file to fashion guitar picks out of a plastic spoon, both screwdrivers for various screws, and the bottle opener for opening beers, naturally.

I realize that this all sounds a little boastful, but the first, most obvious purpose here to recommend Gerber to anyone who is looking to buy a reliable multi-tool or knife.

[I also carry my Gerber Bear Grylls knife in my EDC, which is also the only knife that I’ve bought twice.]

The other purpose here, is a little more metaphorical.  So metaphorical, in fact, that I believe I’ll save it for my next post.  So, I’ll leave you here, with my recommendation and my blessing.

Functionally,

David Glass

Leave a Reply

